About Uganda


Uganda is a landlocked East African country that is bordered by Sudan to the North, Kenya to the East and Tanzania and Rwanda to the South with a population of approximately 26 million.

242,000 Sq kms; 20 percent of its surface is covered by water. Uganda is part of the Great Lakes region.

English is the national language which is taught in most grade schools and also used by most newspapers and some radio stations. Kiswahili and Luganda are also other languages widely spoken. Uganda is a nation of huge diversity with over 50 tribes resident in this robust nation- the languages are as diverse as the friendly people. Rest assured though, in whatever language, the people are still friendly.

Main Towns
Kampala(capital city) ,Entebbe ,Jinja , Mbarara , Mbale , Gulu , Arua , Fort Portal.

Independence date
October 9, 1962 (from Britain)

Uganda has is abundantly blessed with rich natural resources, including fertile soils, regular rainfall and mineral deposits of copper and cobalt. Agriculture is one of the biggest sector in the economy, that employs over 80% in the country. Since 1986, Uganda with the help of foreign countries and international agencies has worked in rehabilitating and stabilizing the economy through undertaking currency reform, improving civil service wages and many more which has led to boost in production and export earnings in the country. For more information please visit www.bizuganda.com

The Ugandan shilling is legal tender in Uganda. The paper notes are in the denominations of 1000, 5,000, 10,000, 20,000, 50,000. There are also coins in usage in denominations of 5, 10, 20, in the country. They are no restrictions on money transfers in and out of Uganda.